INFORMATION FOR FILING A PRO SE DIVORCE
IN BASTROP COUNTY

THE DISTRICT CLERK’S OFFICE DOES NOT SUPPLY FORMS NECESSARY TO FILE FOR DIVORCE.
E ARE TATTORNEYS AND ARE LEGALLY PROHIBITED FROM GIVI ANY LEGAL ADVICE

If you intend to represent yourself “Pro Se” (without the assistance of an attorney) you must have knowledge to prepare
and file the necessary pleadings and present your case to the Court.

The only suggestion or advice that we can offer is that you purchase a book on “How to Do Your Divorce in Texas”, visit
the website TEXASLAWHELP.ORG, go to a Law Library or Public library to research the necessary information, or see
an attorney. Additionally, you may qualify for free legal services from Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid (1-888-988-9996).
Their services may be available for eligible low-income applicants.

PROCEDURES FOR FILING YOUR OWN DIVORCE:

1. Bring your Original Petition and 2 copies to the District Clerk’s Office to be filed.

2. The filing fees are to be paid at time of filing and will vary. Please contact our office to make sure you have the
correct fees.

3. Your petition will be filed and assigned a cause number and court. Please have this information available when
contacting our office concerning your case. We have no control over which court will hear your case. The courts
are automatically rotated in our system.

4. The Court may NOT grant a divorce before the 60™ day AFTER the day the Petition is filed.

5. You are responsible for setting your hearing. You may call the court coordinator to set your hearing date (see
specific instructions and contact information below).

IF YOUR CASE IS IN THE COUNTY COURT AT LAW, YOU MUST WAIT 45 DAYS AFTER FILING
THE PETITION TO SCHEDULE A HEARING BEFORE THE JUDGE. TO SCHEDULE IN COUNTY
COURT AT LAW, CALL 512-581-4277. DO NOT CALL UNTIL 45 DAYS AFTER FILING.

IF YOUR CASE IS IN THE 423R° DISTRICT COURT, YOU MUST WAIT 60 DAYS AFTER FILING
THE PEITION TO SCHEDULE A HEARING BEFORE THE JUDGE. TO SCHEDULE IN 423RP
DISTRICT COURT, CALL 512-581-4037. DO NOT CALL UNTIL 60 DAYS AFTER FILING.

6. When you come to the courthouse for your final hearing, bring your complete Divorce Decree and the required &
completed Bureau of Vital Statistic form.

7. Report to the assigned courtroom and wait for the Court to call your case. The Judge cannot assist you with your
divorce. You must know how to present your case in the courtroom.

8. Ifyou or your spouse will be receiving child support, you must return to the District Clerk’s Office and give
required information to set up your child support account that will be collected and disbursed through the State
Disbursement Unit.

9. Pursuant to Local Court Rules,

e In ALL suits affecting parent-child relationship filed in Bastrop County, Texas, involving children under
the age of 18, all parties shall successfully complete a seminar that addresses the issues confronting the
children that are the subject of divorce, custody, and child support litigation. Each party is responsible for
payment of the appropriate fee.

e A party’s failure to attend the seminar pursuant to this Rule will result in contempt, sanctions,
postponement of the final hearing and entry of a final decree.

e Information on this required seminar is available in the District Clerk’s Office.

YOU WILL RECEIVE ONE CERTIFIED COPY AT THE TIME YOUR DIVORCE IS FINALIZED. ADDITIONAL COPIES ARE
$1.00 PER PAGE FOR REGULAR COPIES AND §1.00 PER PAGE PLUS A $5.00 CERTIFICATION FEE FOR CERTIFIED
COPIES.

THANK YOU,
SARAH LOUCKS,
BASTROP COUNTY DISTRICT CLERK.



