Occupational Driver’s License (effective 01/01/2022)

Please make sure to read all the information provided, if you still have questions
contact a lawyer or other legal resources provided in this packet. The clerks are
not allowed to give legal advice.

Before getting your petitions approved by the District Attorney’s office you must
obtain the following information for them to review:

1. A certified copy of your driver’s license record

2. Proof of current valid auto liability insurance or a copy of an SR22 from
your insurance company

3. A copy of the court order that suspended your license, unless you checked
the last box on Section 2.

4. Letter from your employer or immediate supervisor on your employer’s
letterhead (or an affidavit) that verifies your work schedule, if you have
asked the court to let you drive to work.

5. A money order or cashier’s check for $54.00 (fee change effective
01/01/2022) made payable to Bastrop County JP#1.

NOTE: if an occupational License is granted by the court, a certified copy of the
petition and Order must be on your possession the entire period that your regular
license is suspended.

You will need to send a copy to DPS, along with a copy of the SR-22 and a money
order for $10.00 payable to DPS for your occupational License. (Reinstatement
Fees may also apply; contact DPS regarding these and other requirements).

SEND TO: Texas Dept. of Public Safety Occupational License
ATT: CCR
P.O Box 15999
Austin TX 78761-5999



Ex Parte The clerk fills out below

Cause No:

Print your name

First Middle Last

Petition for Occupational Driver’s License

Print your answers:

My name is:

[ District O County [ Justice Court of:

County, Texas

First Middle Last

| am the Petitioner, and | am asking the court for an Occupational Driver’s License.

| ask the Court to consider the information | have provided below.

Upon approval of this Petition, | ask the Clerk to send a certified copy of the Petition and the
court Order setting out the judge’s findings and restrictions to the Texas Department of Public

Safety.

|. Petitioner’s Personal Information

1. Home address:

Street address City

County Zip

2. Mailing address (if different from above):

, Texas

3. Phone number: ( )

4. Email address:

5. Date of birth:

Month Day Year

6. The last four digits of my Social Security Number are
Or

0 1do not have a Social Security Number.
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Il. Driver’s License Information

5. Check all that apply and provide requested information:

[ ] I have never held a Texas Driver’s License.

[ ] My Texas Driver’s License # is: . Expiration date: I

[] My Driver’s License was issued by the state of

My Driver’s License number is . Expiration date: [

6. Is your license suspended because of a physical or mental disability? [ ] Yes [ ] No
Is your license suspended for non-payment of child support? [] Yes [ ] No

Have you had 2 or more occupational driver’s licenses because of a
conviction in the last 10 years? [] Yes [ ] No

lll. Notice to the State If Applicable

7. If any of the following are applicable, the Clerk of the Court should serve the State with
notice of this Petition as required by the Texas Transportation Code section 521.243(a).

(Check all that apply and fill in the blanks.)
A. My license is suspended under Transportation Code section 521.342. (Conviction of
various offenses of an individual under the age of 21)

[] Yes[ ] No

Date of conviction Court of conviction

B. My license is suspended because | was convicted of:

a. [] Criminally Negligent Homicide Penal Code 19.05

b. [[] Driving While Intoxicated Penal Code 49.04

c. [] Driving While Intoxicated with Child Passenger Penal Code 49.045
d. [] Flying While Intoxicated Penal Code 49.05

e. [] Boating While Intoxicated Penal Code 49.06

f. [] Assembling or Operating an Amusement Ride While Intoxicated Penal Code 49.065
g. [ Intoxication Assault Penal Code 49.07

h. [] Intoxication Manslaughter Penal Code 49.08

on in
Date of conviction Court of conviction County of Conviction
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IV. Suspensions and Charges

8. Why is your Driver’'s License suspended? (Check all that apply and fill in the blanks):

A.[] Iwasarrestedon__/ / and the breath sample | provided registered above 0.08.
(date)

B. [ ] | was arrested on /1 ,and | did not give a breath sample, as requested.
(date)

Within the past ten (10) years from the date of the arrest that led to your current suspension,
have you had a suspension for refusal to give a breath/blood sample or providing a sample

with a blood alcohol content greater than .08 following an arrest for DWI?
[]YES [INO

C. ] This court convicted me of on (date) / /

D. [ ] A Texas court determined that | am a “habitual violator of traffic laws.”

E. [] A Texas court ordered me to go to a Driver Education Program, and my license,
permit, and/or driving privilege is automatically suspended for 365 days.

F. ] Other (If you did not check any of the above, why is your license suspended or invalid? Be
specific.)

9. | have the following criminal charges pending: (You do not need to list traffic or Class C charges.)
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V. Petitioner’s Essential Need to Drive

If your license is suspended based on an offense under Penal Code 49.04 - 49.08, you are
required to have an interlock device installed on each motor vehicle you own or operate, and you

do not need to complete Numbers 10, 11, and 12 below.

10. Why do you need an Occupational Driver’s License? (Check all that apply):

[ ] I need an Occupational Driver’s License to drive to and from my place of work.

Name of Employer #1:

Employer's Address:

Days and hours you work:

Job title:

Name of Employer #2:

Employer’s Address:

Days and hours you work:

Job title:

[ ] I need to drive to school. (Fill out below):
School Name:

School Address:

Days and hours of your classes:

[ ] Other (explain):

11. Driving schedule you are requesting:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday | Thursday
From: am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm
To: am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm

Friday

am/pm

am/pm

Saturday Sunday
am/pm am/pm
am/pm am/pm

12. If you are asking the Court to allow you to drive for more than 4 hours per day, explain why below:
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VI. Petitioner’s Request to the Court

13. | ask the Court to order the Texas Department of Public Safety to issue me an
Occupational Driver’s License to drive for the purposes described above.

| further ask this Court to order the Texas Department of Public Safety to administer any
and all tests required for the issuance of said Occupational License.

Petitioner’s name (print)

)

Petitioner’s signature Date

Unsworn Declaration Made Under Penalty of Perjury
As allowed by Section 132.001 of the Texas Civil Practices and Remedies Code, | am filing this Unsworn
Declaration in support of the Petition for Occupational Driver’s License in place of a Verified Petition.*

My current legal name is:

First Middle Last

My date of birth is: / / .
Month Day Year

My address is:

Street Address City State Zip Code Country

| declare under penalty of perjury that all information in this Petition is true and correct. |
understand | could be prosecuted for lying on this form.

Formally signed in County,
County State

on this date: / / .
Month Day Year }

Signature of Person Asking for
Occupational Driver’s License

*Pursuant to Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code Section 132.001, an unsworn declaration may be used in lieu of a written
sworn declaration, verification, certification, oath, or affidavit required by statute or required by a rule, order, or requirement adopted
as provided by law. This provision does not apply to an oath of office or an oath required to be taken before a specified official other
than a notary public. An unsworn declaration made under this section must be 1) in writing, 2) signed by the person making the
declaration as true under penalty of perjury and 3) in substantially the form used above.

See below for a list of documents to attach to this Petition:
[0 A certified abstract (Type AR) of your driver’s license record.
[0 An SR22 from your insurance company providing proof of current valid auto liability insurance.

[0 Proof of need to drive: Examples of proof: A letter from your employer or immediate supervisor on your employer’s letterhead
that verifies your work schedule, a current pay stub, school registration with schedule, or your sworn affidavit explaining to the
court why you need to drive unless your license is suspended solely based on an intoxication offense under Penal Code 49.04
—49.08 and any vehicle you own or operate must be equipped with an interlock device.

CV-ODL-100 Petition for Occupational Driver’s License (Rev. 8-2017)
©TexasLawHelp.org Page 5 of 5



Ex Parte [The clerk fills out below.
Cause No:

Print your name [ District O County [ Justice Court of:

County, Texas

First Middle Last

Order for Occupational Driver’s License

On this date, the Court heard the petitioner’s Application for Occupational Driver’s License.

The Petitioner named below appeared in person without an attorney.

The Court finds that notice to the State: (Check one.) The Court fills out this box.

[] was not required.
[] was given as required by Texas Transportation Code Section 521.243 and: (Check one.)
[] the attorney representing the State did not appear.

[] the attorney representing the State, , also appeared.
I. Findings
1. The Court FINDS that Petitioner’s personal information is as follows:
a. Name:
first middle last
b. (Check all that apply and fill in the blanks)
] Petitioner’s Texas Driver’s License Number is
[] Petitioner’s Texas Driver’s License expiration date is
] Petitioner has never had a Texas Driver’s License.
] Petitioner has a Driver’s License from with License Number
c. Home address:
Street address
City County State Zip Code
d. Phone number: ( )
e. Date of birth: / /

Month  Day Year

2. The Court FINDS that it has jurisdiction and venue over this case and the Petitioner because:
(Check all that apply and fill in the blanks.)

[] Petitioner resides in this County.
[] The offense for which Petitioner’s license was suspended happened in this county.

] This Court convicted Petitioner of an offense under the laws of this state that resulted in the
automatic suspension or cancellation of Petitioner’s license.

3. The Court FINDS that Petitioner has provided the Court with the following:
® a certified abstract (type AR) of Petitioner’s driver’s license record and
® an SR-22 financial responsibility insurance certificate.

CV-ODL-200 Order for Occupational Driver’s License (Rev. 8-2017)
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4. The Court FINDS that Petitioner’s driver’s license is suspended because: (Check all that apply and fill in
the blanks.)

[] This Court convicted Petitioner of on(ate) /| /[
under cause number:

[ ] Petitioner refused to submit to a breath or blood test or submitted a breath or blood test that

registered more than 0.08 following an arreston ___/ | for:
Date

(Check one.)

[] Driving While Intoxicated

[] Other:

[l The Texas Department of Public Safety said Petitioner was a habitual violator of traffic laws.
[] Other:

5. The Court FINDS that Petitioner’s driver’s license is not denied, suspended or revoked
because of a physical or mental disability or nonpayment of child support.

The Court further FINDS that Petitioner has not been issued more than one Occupational
Driver’s License following a conviction during the past 10 years.

6. (Check all that apply and fill in the blanks.)
[] The Court FINDS that the suspension of Petitioner’s license began/begins onorabout _/ /  and

ends on or about (date): __ /| .

[] The Court FINDS that the Petitioner’s license is invalid for an indefinite period of time.

7. The Court FINDS that Petitioner: (Check all that apply and fill in the blanks. NOTE: If your license is suspended
based on an offense under Penal Code 49.04 - 49.08, you are required to have an interlock device installed on each

motor vehicle you own or operate, and you do not need to complete Number 7.)

[] works for the following employer(s):

Employer #1: Work Phone:
Work Address
Employer #2: Work Phone:
Work Address

[] works for him/herself. Petitioner's occupation is:

Petitioner’s work address is:

[] drives as part of his/her work and/or essential needs throughout the following county or counties:

[] attends school at or transports family members to the following school(s):

School #1: School Phone:
School Address:
School #2: School Phone:

School Address:

[] has other essential needs to drive

CV-ODL-200 Order for Occupational Driver’s License (Rev. 8-2017)
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The Court fills out the rest of this form.

(Check applicable.)

] The Court FINDS that Petitioner’s driver’s license is suspended because of an intoxication offense and
the Occupational License here Ordered is subject to the restrictions set out below.

[ ] The Court FINDS that Petitioner has an essential need to drive and the Occupational Driver’s License
here Ordered is subject to the restrictions set out below.

[I. Orders
The Court ORDERS that this Petition for Occupational Driver’s License is GRANTED subject to the following
restrictions and ORDERS Petitioner to follow all restrictions listed below.

The Court ORDERS the Texas Department of Public Safety to issue an Occupational Driver’s License to
Petitioner subject to the following restrictions. The Court further orders the Texas Department of Public
Safety to administer any and all tests required for the issuance said Occupational License, and, if Petitioner
passes all required tests, issue an Occupational Driver’s License to Petitioner subject to the following
restrictions.

Restrictions
v Petitioner must not drive a commercial vehicle with this license.

v' Petitioner must maintain in full force and effect an SR-22 automobile liability insurance policy for
the entire period the Occupational Driver’s License is in effect.

v' Petitioner must have in his/her possession a certified copy of this court order while driving and
must allow a peace officer to examine the order when requested.

The Court also ORDERS the restrictions checked below: (Check all that apply.)

[] Any vehicle owned or operated by the Petitioner MUST be equipped with a working ignition interlock
device in accordance with Texas Transportation Code Section 521.2465.

[] Petitioner must not refuse any lawful request by law enforcement for a sample of Petitioner’s breath
or blood if stopped for Driving While Intoxicated.

[] Petitioner must submit to periodic testing for alcohol or controlled substances as follows:

[] Petitioner must attend the alcohol/drug counseling program listed below and give the court clerk
proof of attendance within days of this order.

Program:

[] Petitioner must submit to community supervision as follows:

[] Petitioner may only drive in the counties listed here:

[] Petitioner must only drive to and from work or school and for essential duties, including medical
appointments, court appointments, attorney appointments probation office meetings, and any
supervision, education, counseling, or other essential needs authorized by this court.

CV-ODL-200 Order for Occupational Driver’s License (Rev. 8-2017)
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Petitioner must not drive more than: (Check one.)
] 4 hours in any 24 hour period.

[] 12 hours in any 24 hour period. The Court specifically finds that Petitioner needs to drive more than 4
hours and ORDERS that the 4 hour limitation is waived.

[] Petitioner must only drive on the days and at the times listed below:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday | Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
From: am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm
To: am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm am/pm

[] Petitioner must always keep a log book in any car Petitioner drives. Petitioner must correctly record
in the log book all dates and times Petitioner drives and the destination and reason for each trip.
Petitioner must show this log book to any law enforcement officer upon demand.

[ ] Additional Restrictions:

I1l. Date this Order takes Effect

The Court Clerk shall send a certified copy of the Petition and the court Order setting out this Court’s
findings and restrictions to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

This Order takes effect on: (Check one and write in the date, if applicable.)

[] the date this Order is signed by the Court.

] [ which is 91 days after the date Petitioner’s license was suspended.
] [ which is 181 days after the date Petitioner’s license was suspended.
] I which is 366 days after the date Petitioner’s license was suspended.

Petitioner may use a certified copy of this Order for Occupational Driver’s
License as arestricted license ONLY for 45 days, beginning on the date this
Order takes effect.
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IV. Date this Order Ends

Unless revoked by the Court, this Order for Occupational Driver’s License remains valid until:

(Check one and write in the date, if applicable.)

] I

] I which is the date Petitioner’s current driver’s license suspension ends.

The reason for Petitioner’s current driver’s license suspension is listed in 4 above.

V. Warnings to Petitioner
Itis a Class B Misdemeanor for you to drive in violation of any of the restrictions listed above.
Itis a Class B Misdemeanor for you to drive without a certified copy of this order in your possession.
The Court may revoke this Order, at any time, for good cause.

This Order and your Occupational Driver’s License are automatically revoked if you are convicted of
driving in violation of any of the restrictions listed above or convicted of driving without a certified copy
of this Order in your possession.

You may use a certified copy of the Order for Occupational Driver’s License to drive for 45 days only,
beginning on the date this Order takes effect. If you do not receive your Occupational Driver’s
License from the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) before the 45" day after the date this
Order takes effect, you MUST not drive until you receive your Occupational Driver’s License from
Texas Department of Public Safety or come back to court to get an Amended Order for
Occupational Driver’s License that extends the 45-day time period.

If this ORDER includes a finding of an essential need to drive, and the places, reasons, days or times that
you need to drive change, you must come back to Court to get an Amended Order for Occupational
Driver’s License that reflects those changes.

Signed On: By:

Judge’s Signature
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Austist Bar Association | Legal Resources

Legal Rcsources for the Commumty

Lrwyer Referral Service of Central Texas
512-472~B303 LRS Is a public service designed to help you find ar attomey or other legal resowrees or community service
organizations. We are 2 non-profit established in 1966, Through this service, yon can obizin a thirty-minate appointment with an

attorney that handles your type of case for only $20.

Lepalline

Call 472-B3043 from 5:30 to 7:30 pao. on the frst Tnesday of every month for LegalLine, the fee legal advice hotlina that anewers
lezal questions over the telephons. Sponsored by the Lawyer Referral Service of Central Texas and Anstin Young Lawyers
Association, Legalline is staffed by atterney valunteers who answer legal guestions and give brief legal advice.

People's Law School
A community service organized by the Avistin Bar Association, UT Law School, the Lawyer Referral Sevvies, and KEYE, the
People's Law Schoal featores basie classes in many types of law, Classes are tanght by attorney volmteers, This year's event wil

" be held Feb, 23, 2008, at the UT Law School

Texas RoCGrande Legal Aid - AnsHn Office

1-B88-5B8-5996 or 512-374-2700 (Anstn) B am.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday for general civil legal services. Anstin Legal
Clinic East Drop-in (o cafls} Monday evenings 6 - 7 p.m., Martin Jumdor High, 1601 Haskell (Comer of Comal and HaskelT).
Austin Legal Clinjc North Drop-in (oo calls) Wednesday evenings 6 - 7 p.m., Webb Middle School, 601 E. 8t Jobn's Ave,, Austn,

Fec Disputes for Travis Coonty
512-472-0279 The Avstin Bar Association’s Fee Dispute Comimittee handles billing disputes betwaen Travis Counity attorp e:ys and

their clients.

Advocacy, Inc.
Boo-315-3 875 Or 512-454-4816 (Anstin} stabﬂ;ty—rdatad issves, ineluding access and diseriminaton

Anstin Tenants Counell
512-474-7007 (Austin} Honsing discrimination based on race, color, religion, sewx, national origin, familial status, or disability

© Capital Aven Agency on Aging
BBB-622-9111 0T 512-015-6062 (Austin) Provides persons over age 60 with abuse/neglect referral, legal awareness education,
health care inforrnabion, long-term care insurance information, pueblic benefls eounseling /imformaHon, ombudsman services.
Also provides assistance with Alling out forms, individual advocacy, individualized advice, public interest advocacy, self-help

materials and referrals to other agencies

Capital Area ATDS Legal Project

512-458-2437 (Anstin) Estate planning, discrimination, debtor counseling, insorence problems, access to heatth eare, public
benefits, frnily law, immigration and other maters enconntered by elipible clients

Dispnte Resolution Center
512-371-00335 (Aunstin) Provides alternative dispute resolution services incdluding mediation, mini-trial, moderated conference

setlement conference, summary fury trial and arbitration

Family Eldercare, Tnc

12-450-0844 (Anstin) Gnardiznships and money management assistance for incapacitated elderly or disabled persons, dne to
neglect, abuse or exploitation

Political Asylam Project of Anstin (PAPA)

;12-478-0546 (Austin) Immigration: asylnm, cancellation of removal, voluntary departure, VAWA, citizenship, family-based visa
petitons, detainees rights

SafePlace

Domestic Vislence Hotline: 512-g28-9070 {Anstin} Sexual Assanlt Hotline: 512-440-7273 {Anstin) www.anstin-safeplace org
Domestc violence services, sevmal assanlt crisis center and serviees to vichms with disabilities

Texas Workforce Commission '
512-32.0-BR08 (Aunstin-Laber Solutions) §12-832-0116 (Ausiin -North) 512-416-1314 (Anstn~ Vatatan 5 Cir) 512-719-4145 (Austin-

Worldoree Ctx). Provides employment—relzted assistance inelnding discrdmination {n employment, education, job search and
unemployment insurance; services include general informsbion, mdividual advocacy, and ombudsman services

Austn Assodation for Legal Professionals
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